Kids Bedroom Makeover


About 2 weeks ago my oldest said she wanted a bunk bed. She was going to use her money to buy one…so the search began. We searched CL and then we started in on the furniture stores. CL was expensive and the furniture stores were 100 times worse! I honestly couldn’t believe how expensive bunk beds were. My oldest is one of those “instant gratification” type of people  so when I brought up the “I can just build you one” idea she was not excited. Honestly I think she thought there was no way her mom could build a cool bunk bed {because I’m so lame}. Anyway after a few days of searching and much convincing I started on building a bunk bed. I went to my favorite site ana-white.com and searched bunk beds. I found this one and knew it was perfect. Of course I changed it up a bit but the plans from this site are AWESOME!

During

Here is a picture of their bedroom before. Of course true to form I forgot to take a true before picture but honestly and sadly it did

look a lot like this

And here is the after pics. New paint, bunk bed, comforters, and some wall art. The kids love it! Jorja actually told me that when she asked for a bunk bed she had no idea that she would get all this 🙂

Hope you all enjoy. Have a great weekend

Tip Junkie handmade projects

4 thoughts on “Kids Bedroom Makeover

  1. Saw your project on Ana White’s site and love how you did the canopy! I’m trying to figure out if that would work in our girls’ room. Our ceilings are just the standard 8′, do you have higher ceilings or did you adjust the height of the head/footboard of the top bunk?

    You did such a fantastic job on the bunk bed! What a fun space for your daughter. As our boys have “cool” hanging lofted beds, our girls want something extra fun for their room as well, but their windows don’t allow for two lofted beds. This would be perfect. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Erin,
      Thank you!
      I actually stuck to the height of the plan. The girls ceiling is also 8′. The canopy is just 1×1 wood nailed together and then screwed onto the bed frame. It can be removed without much work. After I took this picture I actually made a curtain for the lower bunk so that both the girls could have a “hide out”. The girls love it! Good luck with your project! Let me know if you need any pics or help with yours!

      • Thank you so much for answering my question, can’t wait to get started as we are expecting baby #6 and it is time to start “stacking” the older children!

Leave a comment